GIG of North Texas

Gluten Free Diet


Main Menu
What is GIG?
GIG Welcome
GIG Web Links
What is Celiac?
Symptoms
Diagnosis
Treatment
Related Disorders
Gluten Free Diet
Do I have Celiac?
Dermititis Herpetiformis
Recipes
New Patient Info
Celiac Nutrition Info
Contact Us

 

 
 

Gluten Free Diet

The Gluten-Free (GF) Diet:  The GF diet is the prescribed medical treatment for gluten intolerance diseases such as celiac disease (CD) and dermatitis herpetiformis (DH).  An immune sytem response to eating gluten (storage proteins gliadin and prolamine) results in damage to the small intestine of people with gluten intolerance.  The GF diet is a life long commitment and should not be started before being properly diagnosed with CD/DH.  Starting the diet without complete testing is not recommended and makes diagnosis later more difficult.  Tests to confirm CD could be negative if a person were on the GF diet for very long.  A valid test would require reintroducing gluten (a gluten challenge) before testing.  Celiac disease is an inherited autoimmune disease and confirmation of CD will help future generations be aware of the risk of CD within the family.

Dietitians developed the following dietary guidelines, for the Gluten Intolerance Group and Celiac Disease Foundation.  These are in agreement with the Gluten Free Diet guidelines published by the American Dietetic Association, October 2000.  The American Dietetic Association Guidelines were written through a cooperative effort of dietitian experts in celiac disease in Canada and the United States.

The following grains & starches are allowed:

   
Buckwheat Rice
Corn Potato
Tapioca Bean
Sorghum Soy
Arrowroot Amaranth
Quinoa Millet
Tef Nut Flours

The following grains contain gluten and are not allowed:

   
Wheat (durum, semolina) Rye
Barley Spelt
Tritical Kamut
Farina

The following ingredients are questionable and should not be consumed unless you can verify they do not contain or are derived from prohibited grains:

   
Brown Rice Syrup (frequently made with barley) Carmel color
Dextrin (usually corn, but may be derived from wheat) Flour or cereal products
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), vegetable protein, hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP) or textured vegetable protein (TVP) Malt or malt flavoring (usually made from barley.  Okay if made from corn)
Modified food starch or modified starch Natural and artificial flavors
Soy sauce or soy sauce solids (many soy sauces contain wheat)

Additional components frequently overlooked that often contain gluten:

   
Breading Broth
Coating mixes Communion Wafers
Croutons Imitation Bacon
Imitation Seafood Marinades
Pastas Processed Meats
Roux Sauces
Self-Basting Poultry Soup Base
Stuffing Thickeners

Can I use Oats?  Based on numerous studies in the last several years, involving children and adults, using pure oats and store-shelf oats, around the world; research shows that oats do not appear to be harmful to persons with gluten intolerance in moderation.  Recent discovery of the specific reaticve peptide in gluten intolerance and research by Dr. Don Kasarda on the amino acid sequencing of oats vs. the now reactive peptide sequence know to be problematic for gluten intolerance.  Therefore oats are gluten free.

North Texas GIG can recommend consumption of guaranteed GF oats from a company that grows and mills only oats, such as Cream Hill Estates.  We do not recommend a company such as Quaker, which does not guarantee their oats to be GF.

Today, as we know and understand research on gluten intolerance, the offending cereals that must be avoided are wheat, rye, barley and their derivative cereals.

To learn more about the diet - You may access the Quick Start Diet Guide for Celiac Disease from our downloadable files.

This page contains an online listing of gluten free restaurants and links to gluten free restaurant resources, sorted by state.